Category Archives: Publishing

the german edition of me

Ein Mann Von Welt (with English Subtitles) from Antoine Wilson on Vimeo.

When my German publisher Suhrkamp / Insel asked me to introduce myself to the German readers of PANORAMA CITY (titled EIN MANN VON WELT over there), I couldn’t resist trying to speak their language.

For the record, I speak not a word of German.

Location: Oxnard, CA, standing in for the dunes of Sylt.

that first novel was not a fluke

Six years ago, anticipating the release of my first novel, THE INTERLOPER, I scribbled some hesitant notes toward a new thing.

Then I tossed out those notes and scribbled some more notes, less hesitant, toward what would become PANORAMA CITY.

Today, exactly today, it’s a book. I’m feeling something like parental pride. For the next month or so, I’ll be helping my novel make its way into the world, decorating its dorm room, buying it a microwave and a futon. Then it’ll be on its own for the first time.

For the moment, though, I’m trying to enjoy this bittersweet moment, both a culmination and a farewell.

Book Tour Dates

Folks, still sorting out some details, but I want to let everybody know what the upcoming book tour looks like for PANORAMA CITY:

(Always available on the ABOUT > EVENTS page.)

Official NY book launch:
Antoine Wilson (in Conversation with Ed Park), McNally-Jackson Bookstore, New York, NY, September 28, 2012.

L.A. sneak peek event:
West Hollywood Book Fair, “Calling of the Land” panel w/ Katie Arnoldi, Anne-Marie Kinney, Tatjana Soli, moderated by Patrick Brown. September 30, 2012, 12:45pm.

A quick Bay Area tour:
Green Apple Books, San Francisco, CA, October 2, 2012.
Diesel, a Bookstore, Oakland, CA, October 3, 2012. 7:00 pm.

L.A. Book Release Party (you’re invited!):
Diesel, a Bookstore, Los Angeles, CA, October 4, 2012. 7:00 pm (cocktails at 6:30)

For my Hollywood and Eastside peeps:
BOOK SOUP, West Hollywood, CA, October 16, 7:00 pm.
Skylight Books, Los Angeles, CA, October 17, 7:30 pm.

Midwest:
Prairie Lights Bookstore, Iowa City, IA, October 9, 2012.
Room of One’s Own, Madison, WI, October 10, 2012.

Texas:
UT New Writers Project, Book People, Austin TX, October 11, 2012. 7:00 pm.

Miami:
Miami Book Fair, November 16-18, 2012.

HOPE TO SEE YOU OUT THERE IN REAL LIFE!!!

I hereby invite any and all crowdsourced book trailers for PANORAMA CITY.

So today I got an email from my old school writing homie John Woodward, sympathizing with my book trailer plight. Not only sympathizing, but linking to a trailer Woody himself threw together:

THIS IS SO MUCH BETTER THAN ANYTHING I AM WORKING ON.

In exchange for his fine work, Woody gets my eternal gratitude.*

*Which he had already.

Worst Performance by an Author (cover version)

Some years ago, Jonathan Franzen made a terrible author video. I watched it many times and laughed. The more I watched it, though, the more it made sense to me as the ideal act of authorly rebellion…and the more I found myself sympathizing with Franzen’s concerns.

Finally, today, I recorded my cover version. Here it is in all its glory:

“Jonathan Franzen on Author Videos” (cover version) from Antoine Wilson on Vimeo.

Here’s the original Franzen version.

To balance the scales, here’s a much better Franzen video on comic writers (re Gogol: “He was a chilly motherfucker.”):

Two Advance Reviews for PANORAMA CITY

PUBLISHER’S WEEKLY gives PANORAMA CITY a STARRED, BOXED review in this week’s issue:

Wilson’s second novel (after Interloper) is fresh and flawlessly crafted as well as charmingly genuine. Oppen Porter is almost 30, a guileless man who lives in a small central California town with his reclusive father in a house overtaken by nature. Untouched by cynicism, Oppen’s interpretation of the world around him evokes both the sublime and the ridiculous. His daily routine consists of riding into town on his bicycle to find odd jobs, feeling sublime happiness at “the softest burring sound” his tires make on the asphalt, and playing a long-running game of chicken with Hector and Mike Alvarez. But the death of Oppen’s father changes Oppen’s life, sending him to live with his Aunt Liz in Panorama City, in the San Fernando Valley, where he pursues two goals: to become a man of the world (he wants this) and to never again be the village idiot (his Aunt Liz wants this). On his way to his new life, Oppen meets a wise man who threatens to derail Aunt Liz’s plans and bring Oppen’s lofty goal into question. Oppen experiments with various roles—dedicated worker, student of religion, thinker—eventually finding his place in the world, framing a classic coming-of-age story in an unexpected way.

And the following rave review will appear in BOOKLIST’s August 1st issue:

Oppen Porter is 28, six-and-a-half feet tall, surprisingly philosophical, and a self-described “slow absorber.” While lying in a hospital bed, certain that he won’t survive the night after being hit by a truck, he dictates the circumstances leading up to the collision to a tape recorder that will be passed on to his pregnant wife and unborn son. Although Oppen focuses on the relatively short time that he lived in Panorama City after his father passed away, he tries to pepper his story with meaningful life lessons and universal truths for his son’s betterment. Wilson’s Panorama City is a candid and perceptive exploration of how families connect and how society’s most popular methods of advancement may not always be the most beneficial. Oppen is an excellent judge of character, and Wilson’s ability to sketch out such an ideal narrator should be commended. Readers who enjoy Mark Haddon and Greg Olear will appreciate Wilson’s authorial voice, which blends Oppen’s good-natured naïveté and humorous asides with incisive cynicism. A funny, heartfelt, and genuine novel.

I am sooooo stoked to see PC getting a nice reception out there in the world of publishing. And a starred review?! I’m over the moon.

Not that I read my reviews.

Galleys

Galleys Have Arrived!

My favorite moment. (Because it’s real, but not too real…)

NEWS: Delighted to announce that Panorama City has been selected to appear on the Editors Buzz Panel at this year’s BEA in New York.

Which means I’ll be there, too!

Last time I attended BEA it was in L.A., and I snagged a pass from my homies at Other Press. It was super-fun, but I have to admit that I felt like a bit of an interloper.

Excited to be there for a legit reason this time.

What do I wear?!?

A Blurb from Rainn Wilson…

…for Panorama City!

Um, the city.

“I have a special relationship with Panorama City, CA. First of all, The Office is literally filmed there. Also, I saw Dungeons and Dragons, The Movie there a long time ago. Also they have a Home Depot. I haven’t read the book yet but if it’s half as interesting as the actual city, it’s gonna be a doozy.”

–Rainn Wilson